Guacamole

I have lived in Texas for a year now, and I have learned that to be a Texan woman, you must have a guacamole recipe. There are as many different varieties as there are women. In my effort to assimilate with the locals, I have created my own guacamole recipe. It is very simple, but I could eat it every day. For the rest of my life. Seriously.

photo10

Feel free to add chopped jalapenos, cumin, or whatever your heart desires. You really can’t go wrong with this one.

For 4 servings of this recipe, you will need 2 ripe avocados, a quarter of an onion, 12 cherry tomatoes, a handful of cilantro, one lime, salt, and garlic powder.

If you’ve never cut avocado before, there’s an easy way to do it. First, cut around the pit to create two halves of the avocado. Take out the pit, and then use a knife to cut the avocado into squares. Then, use a spoon to scoop the avocado squares out of their…shell? Peel? What do you call that thing? Who cares? You’re gonna throw it away.

photo

Add the avocado to a bowl, then added one half of a quarter of an onion. I prefer purple/red onion, but I only had a white onion this day. Such is life. Then add the juice of one lime. Next, you will add chopped tomatoes andĀ chopped cilantro.

photo4

Sprinkle generously with salt and garlic powder. Then using a fork, carefully mash it all together. You want to make sure everything is incorporated well, but you don’t want to overdo it. I like my guacamole the same way I like babies…a little chunky.

photo5

Notice the two avocado pits? After I make my guac, I put the pits back in the bowl. It may be an old wives’ tale, but I’ve heard if you keep the pits with the avocado, it keeps them from going brown as quickly.

photo7

Serve on tacos, chips, grilled chicken, or anything at all! I’m pretty sure heaven for me will look like an endless buffet of guacamole, real Cokes, and chocolate chip cookie dough.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Guacamole

  1. We are launching a new site dedicated entirely to dairy free cooking and was wondering if you would like to participate. The site will host a collection from food blogs from across the web from folks like you that take pride in making their meals with love and from scratch.
    Best of all, traffic will go directly back to your site; all we do is organize and link back to you.

    Check us out at NoDairyKitchen.com
    Cheers and Healthy Eats
    ~Jennifer

Leave a Reply

