Grape Pecan Chicken Salad

I love chicken salad.

Chicken salad is a comfort food to me. There is a very “girlie” restaurant in my hometown that serves perfect chicken salad on fluffy rolls that will change your life. My mom and I love to eat at the counter there and gobble up chicken salad rolls. We also love the iced cookies, but that is a different issue.

I have really been craving chicken salad lately, and although Texas has some awesome tacos, I am yet to find a great chicken salad joint. Alas, I would just have to make my own.

For this recipe, you will need:

cooked and cubed chicken breasts, mayo, salt and pepper, grapes, pecans

First, put one and a half pounds of cubed cooked chicken breasts in a food processor.

Add 2 spoonfuls of mayonnaise and pulse for about 10 seconds.

Pulse for about 10 seconds, and then mix together with a spoon. Add one more spoonful of mayo.

Pulse until the chicken is your desired consistency.

In a bowl, add one teaspoon of salt and one teaspoon of pepper. Mix well.

At this step, it all comes down to preference. If you like chopped celery, add chopped celery. If you like curry, add curry. To each his own. You get the picture.

I like grapes and pecans, so I am going to add and (gently) stir 1/2 cup chopped pecans and 1/2 cup of halved grapes.

Scoop and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

