Iced Sugar Cookies

Yes, I love all of the important things about the Fourth of July, such as celebrating our freedom and remembering our important history as a county.

But, I also love the shallower aspects of Independence Day, especially patriotic baked goods.

Cue Iced Sugar Cookies:

These trinkets of sugar are sure to be a crowd pleaser, and you can change up the shapes/colors for any holiday or event. (duh.)

For this recipe, you will need:

milk, powdered sugar, shortening, sugar, flour, baking soda, baking powder, egg, vanilla extract, butter, and cinnamon and food coloring (two things you forgot to photograph because you were too distracted by Will Smith in Independence Day)

Begin by creaming together 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening, and 1 cup of sugar.

Then add one egg and one tablespoon of vanilla extract.

In a separate bowl, combine 2 1/4 cups flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, and 1 tablespoon cinnamon.

Now add these dry ingredients to your first bowl.

Combine the dry and wet ingredients. You are really gonna have to use some elbow grease! I kneaded it together with my hands.

On a clean (no breakfast taco crumbs) surface, sprinkle some flour so you can roll out your dough.

Roll out your dough, and cut out your fave shapes.

Place on a cookie sheet and cook at a preheated 350 degree oven for about 12 minutes.

Allow to cool completely before icing.

Speaking of icing, this is how my mom taught me to make icing. It is a simple, rich, sweet treat, but it can be a little tricky, so pay attention! Sorry, that was bossy.

First, you need one cup of powdered sugar. Then, add just a splash (a tiny splash!) of milk.

Stir until it is combined. If it is runny, add more powdered sugar. You don’t want it to drip all over the sides of the cookies.

Then add food coloring.

Ice those cooled cookies!

Let the icing set, and enjoy!
 Side note: Some cooking adventures involve crying. Like the time I baked a blueberry pie, only to discover it was not fully cooked as Daniel made a hard right turn in his truck and the inside of the pie went sloshing everywhere. Whew, I think that was a run on sentence. Regardless, there were tears that time. While cooking these lovely cookies, I broke a cardinal rule of cooking. I plugged my electric mixer in before I put the beaters in the mixer. As I was putting the mixer together, it turned on and my finger got caught in it! Daniel came into the kitchen to find me in the fetal position, crying. No fingers were lost. No blood was shed. I did learn my lesson, though. Owie.
2 thoughts on “Iced Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

